Scottish 6 & 4 Stage Road Relay Championships – Club Archive

Scottish 6 & 4 Stage Road Relay Championships.

by Shane Fenton

Lothian Running Club have contested the Scottish 6 & 4 stage Road Relay Championships since 2001. During that time over 250 athletes have represented the club at the Livingston event.

In that first year, no fewer than 35 members were in action, with the men fielding four full teams and one incomplete and the women two teams.

Four times the club have picked up silver medals, with 2006 by far the most successful year with three sets of medals won.

In the Senior Women’s race, the quartet of Helen Murray, Christine Milne, Gillian Godfree and Edel Mooney finished runner-up to the team from City of Glasgow.

The foursome of Jane Moncrieff, Saran Jones, Margaret Turnbull and Jill Horsburgh occupied the same position in the Masters Women’s race behind Fife AC.

Not to be outdone the Masters Men also won silver medals thank’s to Alan McIntosh, Richard Docherty, Stephen Dempsey, Donald Shaw, Alan Shanley and Murray Robertson, who found only the team from Carnegie Harriers quicker than them on the day.

Apart from 2006 the only other time medals have came the club’s way was in 2009 with Suzanne Swan[Matonti], Mhairi Inglis, Sarah Ingis and Edel Mooney finishing runners -up in the Senior Women’s race behind the team from Kilbarchean AC.

The race consists of short legs [3.15miles] and long legs[5.8miles].

The club’s record times over the short leg are held by Iain Donnan [15m 10s] in 2007 and Sarah Inglis [17m 54s] in 2009. The quickest over the long legs are Colin Meek [29m 46s] in 2002 and Edel Mooney [34m 15s] in 2006.

The highest placed mens team was 8th in 2001 with the time of 2 hours 23minutes 52 seconds the fastest by a mens team

The womens highest finishes was their 2nd places in 2006 and 2009, with the fastest time of 1 hour 50 minutes 13 seconds being set in 2006.

Below lists everyone who has represented the club at the relays, with team finishing positions.



[A TEAM]3rd – Jocelyn Moar[20m 48s],Chloe Cox[35.27],Sarah Inglis[18.04],Edel Mooney[34.04], Total time 1h 50m 26s.

[B TEAM] 13th & 3rdVet] – Lynne Murray[21. 38], Shona Young [43.24],Saran Jo[21.40],Christine McVarish[40.20].Total time 2h 07m 02s].

[C TEAM] Lana Turnbull[21.04], Jo Hall[37 30].

23 full teams completed.


[A TEAM]16th – Max McNeil[16.19],Colin Partridge [32.53], Stephen Malcolm[18.48], Scott Nelson [36.09], Alan Moffat[19.49],Donald Shand[37.56]. Total time 2h 41m 54s].26.01]. Total time 3h 11m 27s]

[B TEAM] 30th – Chris Northam[20.53], Peter West [40,45],Ian Leggett [24.43], Jim Alexander[42.31],Cliff Dicker[24.09],Paul Young[26.01].


MEN[A] 32nd:John Malcolm-Max McNeil-Colin Partridge-Scott Nelson- Alan McIntosh, Steven Laurie.
INCOMPLETE: Ian Leggett-Gerry McCafferty-Ewart Scott-Chris Northam-David Berrill.
WOMEN[A] 8th: Lana Turnbull-Sarah Inglis-Leanne Webster-Suzie Hannah.
[B] 25th: Christine Milne-Shona Young-Margaret Turnbull-Jill Horsburgh.

MEN[A] 13th: Robert Inglis-Max McNeil-Ali Robertson-Colin Partridge-Kenton Jones-Scott Nelson.
[B]38th: Ian Leggett-David Berrill-Alec Agnew-Alan McIntosh-Kenny Mearns-Harry Mulholland.
WOMEN[A]6th:Mhairi Inglis-Edel Mooney-Jocelyn Moar-Lynne Murray.
[B]25th Saran Jones-Jill Horsburgh-Leanne Webster-Suzie Hannah

MEN[A]27th: Robert Inglis-Scott Nelson-Ali Robertson-Darren Thomson-Joe Robertson-Alan McIntosh.
[B]43rd:Peter West-Harry Mulholland-Steve Dempsey-John Malcolm-Steven Laurie-Robin Morris.
WOMEN[B]7th:Chloe Cox-Jocelyn Moar-Louise Crilley-Edel Mooney.
[A]13th: Yvonne Crilley-Jill Horsburgh-Christine Milne-Lynne Murray.

MEN[A]27th:Kenton Jones-Brian Turner-David Bell-Steven Laurie-Robert Inglis-Harry Mulholland.
[B]49th:Alec Agnew-Robin Morris-John Ewing-Steve Dempsey-Neal Drummond-John Pickard.
[C] 50th: Chris Rumbles-John Malcolm-Jim Salvage-Ted Finch-Mark Kassyk-Jim Alexander.
WOMEN[A] 2nd:Mhairi Inglis-Suzanne Swan-Sarah Inglis-Edel Mooney.
[B]15th:Louise Crilley-Marie Storrie-Yvonne Crilley-Lynne Murray.
Incomplete:Margaret Turnbull-Rosemary Ewing.

MEN[A]28th:Darren Thomson-Robin Galloway-Harry Mulholland-Steven Laurie-Alan McIntosh-Scott Nelson.
[C]46th:Ian Hall-Brian Welsh-JohnEwing-Kenton Jones-Jim Salvage-Jim Alexander.
[C]47th:Peter Weeks-Mike Lieberman-Richard Docherty-Mark Kassyk-Alec Agnew-Peter West.
WOMEN[A]10th:Suzanne Swan-Margo Welsh-Laura Sarkis-Edel Mooney.
[C] 23rd:Christine Milne-Lucy Galloway-Carol Mabon-Jill Horsburgh.
[B]28th:Yvonne Crilley-Rosemary Ewing-Sue McDowell-Susan Bruce.

MEN[A]28th:Richard Docherty-Graeme Ackland-Steven Lauri-Harry Mulholland-Iain Donnan-John Ewing.
[B] 46th:Jim Salvage-Mike Lieberman-Alec Agnew-Brian Welsh-Peter Weeks-Hugh Murray.
[C]50th:Ted Finch-Alan McIntosh-Mark Kassyk-Brian Stewart-David Mabon-Jim Alexander.
WOMEN[A]6th:Helen Murray-Christine Milne-Sharon Skivington-Edel Mooney.
[B]27th:Margaret Turnbull-Laura Sarkis-Carol-Rosemary Ewing.

MEN[A]2nd:Alan McIntosh-Richard Docherty-Steve Dempsey-Donald Shaw-Alan Shanley-Murray Robertson.
[B]40th:Peter West-Lachie Wallace-Hugh Millar-Brian Stewart-Richard Moir-Fraser Kingscott.
Incomplete:Alec Agnew-Mike Lieberman-Jim Salvage-David Simmons.

WOMEN[A]2nd:Helen Murray-Christine Milne-Gillian Godfree-Edel Mooney.
[B] 16th:Suzanne Swan-Joyce Salvona-MarsieEwing-Val Dempsey.
[C]20th:Jane Moncrieff-Saran Jones-Margaret Turnbull-Jill Horsburgh.

MEN[A] 23rd:Richard Docherty-Donald Shaw-Harry Mulholland-Ross Milne-Alan McIntosh-Steve Cottom.
[B]39th:John Ewing-Hugh Millar-Steve Dempsey-Alec Agnew-Jim Salvage-Mike Lieberman.
WOMEN[Incomplete]:Saran Jones-Margo Welsh-Marsie Ewing.

MEN[A]17th:Steven Laurie-Andreas Merdis-Donald Shaw-Brian Turner-Harry Mulholland-Steve Cottom.
[B]32nd:Alan Shanley-David Simmons-Alec Agnew-Peter West-Murray Robertson-Alan McIntosh.
WOMEN[A]6th:Laura Sarkis-Christine Milne-Teresa McMenemy-Helen Murray.

MEN[A]11th:Brian Turner-Colin Meek-George Gilhooley-Graeme Ackland-Andreas Merdis-David Simmons.
[C]39th:John Ewing-Graham McIntyre-Steve Dempsey-Harry Mulholland-Calvin Crane-Robin Galloway.
[B]43rd:Mike Lieberman-Robin Morris-Alec Agnew-Martin Leadbitter-Steven Laurie-Chris Northam.
[D]46th:Peter West-Scott Balfour-Kenton Jones-Jim Alexander-Steven Cunningham-Peter Weeks.
WOMEN[A]7th:Helen Murray-Joyce Salvona-Teresa McMenemy-Marsie Ewing.
[B]12th:Jane Moncrieff-Val Dempsey-Morag McIntyre-Kate Kitchen.

MEN[A]13th:George Gilhooley-Colin Meek-Steven Cunningham-Brian Turner-Steve Dempsey-David Simmons.
[B]32nd:Alec Agnew-Harry Mulholland-Ian Seggie-David Bell-Murray Robertson-Alan Shanley.
[C]34th:Peter Weeks-Chris Northam-Mike Lieberman-Jim Alexander-Peter West-Alan Grierson.
WOMEN[A]7th:Jane Moncrieff-MagsTurnbull-Delia Leddy-Margo Welsh.
[B]8th:Claire Shanley-Marsie Ewing-Annette Cunningham-Lesley McGiffen.

MEN[A]8th:Murray Robertson-Colin Meek-Graeme Ackland-Andreas Merdis-Tim Brand-Peter Dymoke.
[B]37th:Harry Mulholland-Tim Lenton-John Paxton-Jonny May-Calvin Crane-Ian Leggett.
[C]38th:Philip Northam-David Simmons-Mike Lieberman-John Beech-John EWing-Ian Seggie.
[D]41st:Peter West-Brian Turner-Alistair Hindle-Martin Leadbitter-Alan Grierson-Philip Northam
Incomplete:Alec Agnew-Cliff Acklam-Jim Alexander.
WOMEN[A]9th:Marsie Ewing-Suzie Campbell-Fiona Weir-Gillian McFarlane.
[B]12th:Claire Shanley-Teresa McMenemy-Delia Leddy-Lesley McGiffen.

Iain Donnan[15m 10s in 2007].
Colin Meek [29m 46s in 2002].
Sarah Inglis [17m 54s in 2009].
Edel Mooney [34m 04s in 20013].
Men [2h 23m 52s in 2001]
Women [1h 50m 13s in 2006]
Senior Women [2006 & 2009]
Masters Women[2006]
Masters Men[2006]

Lothian Running Club