Ben Nevis Race 2014

486 runners finished Saturday’s Ben Nevis race which was won by Lochaber AC’s Finlay Wild.  Rob Jebb (Bingley Harriers) was first to the summit in an hour with Finlay reaching the top four minutes later.  A blend of local route knowledge and excellent descending saw Finlay overtake Rob in the last mile to win for the fifth consecutive year.   Lindsey Brindle (Horwich AC) won for the first time in the ladies race.

Lothian were represented by Tosh Brannan, Christine MacVarish and me.  Tosh was completing his 20th (twentieth!) Ben Nevis Race and will receive a Connochie plague for completing his 21st next year.

Results below:

1st Finlay Wild (Lochaber) 1h34m43s

2nd Rob Jebb (Bingley) 1h34m56s

3rd Martin Mikkelson-Barron (Borrowdale) 1h35m28s

58th Lindsey Brindle (Horwich – first lady) 1h56m36s


114th John Malcolm (Lothian) 2h05m22s

245th Tosh Brannan (Lothian) 2h24m53s

378th Christine MacVarish (Lothian) 2h45m43s


486 Finished

Full Results:

Lothian Running Club