Club Awards 2015

To bring this year’s AGM to a close, we continued the recent tradition of holding a short prize giving and awards ceremony.  First off, prizes were awarded for this year’s Club Championships Grand Prix.

The evening was rounded off by presenting a selection of awards for achievement and contribution to the club over the past year. As ever it’s tough to pick out just a few people for recognition and there was more than one contender for all these awards.  However I hope you’ll agree that those that were chosen are deserving of the recognition.

The award for Most Improved Athlete has not yet been awarded, and we are still looking for nominations for this award ( send nominations, along with a brief explanation to )

For those who missed  the AGM, we will aim to present the awards at Training on Friday 27th Nov.

Club Awards 2015

Club awards were based on nominations from club members with the final result decided on by a panel of committee members.

Award for Best Male and Female Senior Athlete

  • Sarah Inglis
  • Malcolm Lang

As well as anchoring our Ladies team to a Gold Medal in the National Road Relays, and contributing to a Team Silver Medal  in the 5km Champs along with her Individual Gold, Sarah has seen tremendous success over in Canada, most recently winning the CIS National Championship and being nominated their Athlete of the year.

Malcolm Lang has been one of our strongest senior male performers all year, winning the Club Championship Grand Prix for the second year running, and consistently coming out top against his main club rivals.

Award for Best Male and Female  Junior Athlete

  • Nicole Furness / Nicole Dredge
  • Andrew Jackson



This year the award for Best Female Junior athlete was shared between Nicole Furness and Nicole Dredge.  The two youngsters both competed well in different arenas making it difficult to compare the two.  Nicole F, in her first year with the club produced over 10 PB performances in the 60m, 100m, and 200m over the course of the year, and was selected to compete in the President Select Match of the Forth Valley League, where she helped the relay team to a silver medal.  Nicole D  performed well in the longer distance events 800m and 1500m and was also selected for the President Select match where she produced a new 800m PB.  In addition, Nicole competed well over the cross country season to win the Clubs Cross Country Championship last year.

The award for Best Junior Male goes to Andrew Jackson.  Like Nicole, Andrew was also prolific in producing PBs in the 60, 100, and 200m over the course of the year.

Award for Endeavour and Commitment

This year’s award for Commitment and Endeavour goes to Aiden McGinty. Aiden, in his first year with the club, has shown a great attitude and enthusiasm both at training and in participating on the track, and in cross country.

Alloa Cross COuntry


Fiddler of the Year

A new award this year which was not announced at the AGM, goes to Sorley Macdonald who was the most prolific winner of the club’s Fiddlers Handicap event this year.


Lothian Running Club